

Blackhawk Ski Club

Annual Meeting Minutes Draft

April 19, 2021

(Virtual Meeting via Zoom)

Agenda

- I. Call to Order
- II. Welcome Message / Report of President [Amy Grunewald]

Highlights

Achieved full function and max capacity with all the challenges from pandemic.

III. Report of Secretary [William Lorman]

a. Approval of Annual Meeting minutes from April 20, 2020

Motion to approve the 2020 minutes by Rich Manteufel, seconded Joe House approved.

IV. Report of Treasurer [Rick Hardy]

- Status of less cash is primarily from 5 new snowmaking sticks, 2 new PoleCat snowmakers and new snow cat.
- Membership remains 60% and programs 30% with the rest donations.
- 152 new annual members is a tremendous increase.
- Biggest ever increase in private lessons.
- Donations were up by \$12,000 primarily from MTB and ski jumping members.
- The drainage district legal proceedings may have a big impact on this year's finances.
- The financial picture overall is the club survived the pandemic in good shape.

V. Report of Vice President [Kelsey Berg]

- a. Volunteering at Blackhawk
- b. Report on Committees
- Volunteering remains a volunteer led club, and it's vital for the club's survival.
- Standing committees remain with short-term project help needed.
 Membership committee is currently setting up a membership check committee. Capital Campaign committee is a new and vital committee working at the high capacity well project.
- Mark Torresani: Nordic Committee revival. The goal is to better coordinate with the club and address member requests.
- Pat Remington: Committee goal is to better manage the growth and improve membership experience. The tree project is removing troubled ash trees and new planting will be native hardwoods.

VI. Message from Club Manager [Kurt Stein]

Kurt's report highlights the major snowmaking improvements, snowmaking volunteers. Highlights for the next season are complete PoleCat project and replace the Leonard's Way tow base.

VII. Election of Directors (online voting instructions) [Amy Grunewald]

- a. Nominating Committee Slate of Candidates [Arianne Neigh]:
 - i. Angela Dlugos (1st term)
 - ii. Spencer Schumacher (1st term)
 - iii. Jill Stevenson (1st term)
 - iv. Thomas Griesheimer (1st term)
- b. Nominations from the floor [Arianne Neigh]
- c. Online Voting Instructions [Amy Grunewald]

The new candidates introduced and no nominations from the floor. Motion to close the nominations approve the candidates from Pat Remington seconded by Joe House.

VIII. Volunteer of the Year Awards [Amy Grunewald]

BART: Steven Zaleski

Blackhawk Composite MTB Team: Em Meier & Andrea Horne

Nordic Team: Jill Stevenson

Biathlon: Paul Kulas

MTB Lessons: Patti Gliens-Kotecki

Alpine Lessons: Zach Swanson

MTB Trails: Mike Dobrient

Nordic Kids: Willow Rothenberg

Ski Patrol: Rob Kudrle

Ski Jumping: Angie Lucas

Snow Making: Rick Hardy & Magnus Oistad

Telemark: Jesse Mangerson

IX. Other Business [Amy Grunewald]

a. Capital Campaign [Chad Oistad]

The new capital campaign is to improve snowmaking. Specifically, well capacity. A new well will need to be near the east chalet and several hundred feet below ground. This starts with a \$25,000 test well. The total cost will be around \$150,000. Part 2 is a pond dredging project. Bids are around \$25,000. Part 3 is piping improvements - improve a main pipe that will isolate the parts of the system at approximately \$15,000. A compressor needed and snow cat plus Kubota tracks are final elements. The total estimated cost is \$250,000.

X. Calendar Updates & Announcements [Amy Grunewald]

- a. Next Regular Board Meeting Date: Monday, May 3, 2021 via Teams
- b. Birding for All Walk: families welcome! Sat May 8-meet at pond at 7:45. Bring binoculars of you have them. Masks and social distancing...

XI. Adjournment

Motion to adjourn by Ken Matusek seconded by Dirk Horne approved unanimously.

2020-2021 Board of Directors & Committee Chairs

Officers:

Amy Grunewald Mattison – President (Programs Committee)

Kelsey Berg – Vice President (Membership Committee)

William Lorman – Secretary (term ending April 2021)

Rick Hardy – Treasurer

At Large:

Ellen Barbouche

James Friedman (term ending April 2021)

Chad Oistad -- Facilities & Operations Committee, Capital Campaign (term ending April 2021)

Scott Ulrey – Executive Committee

Joe House

Ken Matusek

Arianne Neigh

Griff Madigan -- Communications Committee (term ending April 2021)